A sail has been hoisted

Things that have happened:

1) A sail has been hoisted. But it has not taken us anywhere. Don’t get excited.

Gwen and Ren

Gwen and Ren. We’ve had a couple of nice Serenity pootles this week.

2) The swallows’ babies have started hanging out on Gwen. They had previously favoured the rusty white spray nearby, dozily bobbing about on her guard wires in their long rests between flights. Today they started to appear on ours too. They seem to find life exhausting. I completely understand.

3) Rich put in some shelves, mounted the radio and rigged up the bowsprit and the jib because he is a good, productive person.

4) I signed up for a half marathon in October because I’m a fucking idiot. Now I have to go running all the bloody time.

Things that have not happened: Big Joe didn’t organise a five canoe trip to Drake’s Island, the privately owned and abandoned defence isle which we most likely aren’t allowed on, and which we absolutely didn’t visit. We didn’t go and explore the catacombs of the derelict military barracks and it wasn’t amazing..

Ooooh

Ooooh

Mmmmm

Mmmmm

Aaaah

Aaaah

Foolishly not carrying my towel.

Foolishly not carrying my towel.

4 thoughts on “A sail has been hoisted

  1. capnrehab says:

    Sail looks great! I’m excited anyway.

    Glad you’re not doing anything you shouldn’t be doing.

    Don’t understand why you needed a towel, and neither I nor Google nor WordPress spellcheck understand what a pootle is, although I suppose it is a short sail?

    • trudelfish says:

      Ah, once again referencing wildly and making myself incomprehensible – sorry…

      Douglas Adams’ “Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy” has the words DON’T PANIC “inscribed in large friendly letters on its cover”. It also “has a few things to say on the subject of towels. A towel, it says, is about the most massively useful thing an interstellar hitch hiker can have.” It’s my favourite radio show and I heartily recommend listening to the whole thing and/or reading the books or at the very least watching the movie.

      And pootle: http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/british/pootle

      • capnrehab says:

        Thanks. I searched again after going to your dictionary link and now the pootle definition is the 7th listing on Google. Either I just missed it before or the search results are adaptive. Maybe I was just distracted by these supposedly cute, but actually horrifying pootles. (https://c1.staticflickr.com/5/4020/4427990258_809bdeb010_b.jpg)

        I read “Hitch Hiker’s Guide” about 30 or 40 years ago. Maybe it’s time to read again.

        Thanks for the explanation, just keep writing how you write. I really enjoy it.

  2. Emily says:

    HA! YES. I have had the same towel everywhere I have ever been across the world (for that reason, obviously). I didn’t know Gwen was a gaffer.

Leave a Reply

